top of page

Meet the Teacher: Ms. Schweinberg

Gabby Cummings

Ms. Schweinberg is the new Spanish teacher here at Laurel Highlands. We decided to get to know her a little better…


First, tell us a little about yourself.

“My name is Michele Schweinberg and I teach spanish here at Laurel Highlands. I teach a five kid class. I have two fat cats and four funny chickens. I travel a lot and I am soon going to Ecuador.”

What is your teaching past and how did you get to Laurel Highlands?

“I taught Spanish at a Pittsburgh public school and then I went to an elementary. After that, I took off 14 years to be a mom. Then I got back into teaching at Connellsville and moved to teach math. I was so excited to teach Spanish again.”

Why did you want to become a Spanish teacher?

“I just love the culture, I love speaking it, and I absolutely love challenging myself everyday and inspiring students to learn the language.”

How do you like to inspire students to learn?

“I like to tell them stories that happened in other countries. For example, when I was in a rainforest and a monkey just decided to throw all kinds of stuff at me.”

What is your favorite thing about being a teacher?

“When students start speaking Spanish on their own and when they tell me stories about speaking to other people in Spanish and they get excited. That probably has to be one of my favorite parts.”

What are some of your hobbies outside of school?

“I love to of course, travel, I always like to go somewhere new each year. I also like to hike, go biking, cooking, and ski."

bottom of page