top of page

Rising Artist: The Homeless Gospel Choir

Julie Ramey


Pittsburgh has produced many stars such as Mac Miller, Wiz Khalifa, and Christina Aguilera. There are new artist coming onto the scene everyday. Some of these artists don’t get the recognition that they deserve. One of these artist is Derek Zanetti. Derek goes by the stage name “The Homeless Gospel Choir”. Don’t let his stage name fool you. His genre is mainly indie or punk. Derek is currently residing in Pittsburgh. The artist writes about issues that are relatable to many generations. Derek has released a total of five albums, and his newest, “Normal”, was released August 18, 2017. Many of the singles on the album are inspirational to many and shine a light of hope to a lot of people struggling with a variety of issues. A lyric that sticks out to many says “Twenty years and change, and this is more than just a phase. I found something I can believe in”. The song talks about growing up in Western Pennsylvania and feeling lost. Many who meet Zanetti have nothing but positive things to say about his music and his impact on the local scene.


Zanetti is currently signed to A-F records. He is active on social media and is always available to help a fan in need. His social media handles will be below, but first, I got the chance to have an exclusive interview with Mr. Zanetti.


Julie Ramey: You grew up in Western Pennsylvania, do you think that growing up here affected your music preference?


Derek Zanetti: That’s a wonderful question. Yes, I do. The local music scene and the local bands that I was able to witness playing live radically affected the way that I write music. Big bands from California and other fancy places didn’t seem very relatable to me. It seemed far off and intangible. That being able to see people from my own hometown and my own part of the world, told me that I could do what they were doing. Hopefully, art and music are welcoming places that we can engage with, not just witness and consume.


Julie Ramey: Your first album “Some People Never Go Anywhere”was released in 2010. How do you think you’ve grown as an artist since then?


Derek Zanetti: Well, that was just a demo record of some songs I recorded in my friend’s attic. To be honest, I hate those songs. I was just was starting out and finding my place. All of those songs were poorly crafted and hastily written. When I write the songs now, I think about how I am going to listen to the songs in 10 years and 15 years and in 20 years. I want to write songs that referred to the current time that I write them, but also can be an encouragement for the future. I chose my words more wisely today than I have in the past and I know more chords on the guitar today than I did in the past. And I listen to different music today than I did in the past. So that is what changed from my first demo and now.


Julie Ramey: What is your mission as an artist?


Derek Zanetti: Well, to make art. Hopefully with the music that I make I’m able to connect with other people and able to strike a chord with some feelings that they may have inside of their hearts. Hopefully we’re able to take those feelings and manifest those feelings and actions. That creates an atmosphere where people can feel strong and feel confident, and feel in control of their mind and body. That they can take the inspiration that they feel from consuming and participating in music and create their own music and create their own art to show their friends and family. Of course the politics are important but only because everything that we do is political even if we don’t recognize it.


Julie Ramey: As an artist what would you say your biggest accomplishment is?


Derek Zanetti: I don’t necessarily know how to answer that question, but I would say my greatest accomplishment is just continuing to do it. There are so many voices in your head that say “STOP, GROW UP, this is stupid." Ignoring those thoughts and ignoring those voices, and ignoring that negativity is a full-time job in many cases. I think just sticking it out and keep doing it and keep trying new ways to show your to show your music is the best way to beat it. So I would have to say that.


Julie Ramey: You released you last album “Normal” in August of 2017. How would you describe the journey from your first album to the release of “Normal”?


Derek Zanetti: I wrote “Normal” mostly when I was on tour. I wanted to write songs that connected with people and that told an intimate story, so I took my experiences of being around people and sharing stories over time to curate the album. When I first started out writing music, I was mostly by myself in my room, writing songs and I didn’t have any way to gauge how people would react to them. Once I release an album, I seldom go back to it and listen. I seldom go back and reference it. I’m always onto the new and next thing. The creative process is the part about making art that I enjoy the most. I know some people love nostalgia. But it doesn’t do very much for me.


Julie Ramey: How important would you say incorporating art and music into the education system is for today’s youth?


Derek Zanetti: I think music is very important. I think learning an instrument and playing the instrument in a room with another human being teaches you so many wonderful skills and so many wonderful lessons. Teamwork, partnership, troubleshooting, and humility are all important nuggets to what make us good people. Playing music live with others really nurtures those aspects of our lives


Julie Ramey: In your song “Normal” you describe your journey of finding music as a way to deal with problems going on in your life. Did you always think that you would turn it into a career?


Derek Zanetti: No. I do feel lucky that I get to make music for a job, but I don’t think that just making music and just being in a punk band makes you a very well- rounded person. There are certain feelings that you get when people clap for you and tell you how smart and special you are and your songs are so wonderful. For some people, they are doing that 200 nights out of the year and they don’t know any other part of human reality. I believe that my human expirence is accentuated when I do things that I’m either not good at, or outside of what comes naturally to me. So I always try and have something else I’m doing aside from music to give me other experiences so that when I go to write music I can create something that is broader than just being in a punk band. For example, the last nine months I’ve been home, here in Pittsburgh, working weekends in my friends pizza shop. It provided me with a wonderful sense of belonging and structure, and 1000 sparks of inspiration to write new songs.


Julie Ramey: How would you describe your fan base?


Derek Zanetti: Open minded, kind, and loyal. However, I don’t use the word fan or fan base. I would rather have friends than fans. I find the word “fan” too extraordinarily condescending in reference to how you address people who support your music. That’s not to say that I’m not a fan of certain bands, because I am. However, I work hard to avoid language that describes people as my fans.


Julie Ramey:What are your upcoming plans for 2019?


Derek Zanetti: I plan on working hard and trying my best and leaving my house and traveling around. I think maybe I’ll play a couple of shows and I think I’ll release new music.


Julie Ramey: What would you say is the best part of being a musician and staying close to your roots?


Derek Zanetti: The best part of being a musician is the amount of free tickets I get to see shows, and making new friends. I hope to always be changing and developing and growing into something more, and more special, and more and more unique, and more and more wonderful. I only look at my roots to see where I’ve been and how I’ve grown. I don’t really look fondly upon my roots; they’re just a stepping tone to becoming more present.


Julie Ramey: Do you have anything to would like to say to people who are discovering your music?


Derek Zanetti: Wait until the next record comes out. It's the best thing I’ve ever done, and I hope it's your favorite album of all time.


Derek Zanetti is one of the many local artist who love to help out the community through writing meaningful lyrics. You can check out Derek’s social media platforms and support his music below.


“But there is enough for everyone's need

There is enough for everyone's need

There might not be enough for everyone's greed”

-Everyone, (from the album Normal by The Homeless Gospel Choir)


Twitter: @thgchoir

Instagram: @thgchoir

bottom of page